Lost enthusiasm for Photography

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lost enthusiasm for Photography

Over the past year I have found my enthusiasm for photography waning, that was until I analysed why it was happening. I have been a keen photographer for over 60 years and in that time, I have moved from simple cameras through rangefinder cameras, early manual SLRs to Auto focus SLRs and finally to digital.
    The latest move was almost 2 years ago to an R6 Mirrorless camera, and therein lies the problem. It is a very good camera; it has a myriad of clever features and takes first class images, but it is boring to use. It does too much and takes away the need for me to use the skills I have built up over the years.
    I used to be proud of images I took of the Red Arrows back in the 70s with a manual focus telephoto lens on a basic SLR that had simple TTL metering and lever film advance. I seldom missed a shot including the crossover shots. I shot birds in flight, motorcycle racing, car rallying, all with manual focus.
    Much of the joy of photography for me is in using my accumulated knowledge and skill to get a picture. I have put the R6 aside and gone back to using my 5D4s which I use in full manual mode most of the time and I am back to enjoying myself.
    The mirrorless camera is not nice to use in full manual mode as it isn’t giving me the feel of a camera with an optical viewfinder.
    Anyone want to buy an R6?

Alan

No longer using Canon but still teaching new Canon users (and others) the gentle art of Photography.

http://www.springfield-photography.com/