Hello from Ventura, California

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Ventura, California

Hello all, my name is Tom Moon, and I live on the California coast. I've been a subscriber to EOS Magazine for a year and a half. It's wonderfully informative and helpful to me as an EOS user.

I am a retired professional photographer. I started photography as a photomicrographer, moved into medical photography, and finished off my career working in cultural heritage digitization. I bought my first Canon camera back in 1971 when I started out, and still have a closet full of analogue cameras and lenses. I decided to learn digital photography in 1999, buying a Kodak digital camera, an iMac and Photoshop. I then purchased a Canon EOS D30, the first Canon full frame 35mm format camera shortly after. I have had a number of EOS DSLRs since then, and am now using a D5 Mark IV. It's been interesting moving up through the EOS digital line of cameras, as I have to learn enough new features to remain competent. I must admit that I had thought I had met my match with the Mk IV, but reading the manual and finding EOS Magazine got me back on track. The content of this magazine, and of the books That Nina writes have been so helpful in learning the newly added features of the camera. In a lot of ways, the old manual film cameras were simpler to operate. Now, with all the embedded software, and truly astounding hardware, I can achieve much more in less time, of course after I have found all the menu items I need. The photographic world has certainly remained interesting. As a final note, I actually chose technical photography as a profession all those years ago, because I reasoned that I would always learn something new each day in my attempt to keep current, and I would be able to apply this to my desire to record what I saw. In retrospect, I was right.