HELP--- 600D Movie mode question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP--- 600D Movie mode question

I have just bought a Canon EOS 600D, and I love it already. It is my first DSLR and I am trying to learn all about it.

When I put it into movie mode, half press the shutter button to focus, then press the button to start recording, it records for about 5 seconds then stops. On screen I get a message " movie recording was stopped automatically ".

Can anyone tell me if this is because of something I have set wrong or is it a fault? It does it every time. Have looked in the manual and as far as I can see , I have done it correctly. Obviously if it is a fault, I need to get it changed.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
    John

Re: HELP--- 600D Movie mode question

Hi John,
    I'm still learning to use my 600D, so I may not be a lot of help. Select the 'Movie' mode on the dial and then press the menu button to look at the settings. Scroll right to the 2nd menu, then check that the 'Video snapshot' is set to 'Disable'.

Other than trying that, I'm not sure what to suggest. What size and speed of SD card do you have?
    Canon EOS 5D Mark III, EF 135mm F/2 L, EF 16-35mm F/4 L, EF 50mm f/1.8, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 28mm f/2.8
    http://www.aveyardphotography.co.uk
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/aveyardphotography
    https://www.facebook.com/AveyardPhotography

Comment

Hi Andy and thanks for the quick reply.

I think you got it with the speed of the SD card. Just been looking and it looks like the SD card they gave me with the camera is a Class 4 and it needs Class 6 or more.
      Just ordered a Class 10 so hopefully that will sort it.

Thanks again.

Comment

Hi,

I have had a 600D for almost a year now, love it - but all ready want a 7D or 5D - not because there is anything wrong with the 600, I have just got more into it and well, that is what happens....