DPP to Lightroom workflow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DPP to Lightroom workflow

I was an Aperture user but am now switching to Lightroom. I'm trying to get my workflow nailed and I'm wondering how DPP fits into the process.

I've never used DPP before and I'm curious about DLO, noise reduction, dust removal and any other benefits there might be, if any.

Here's my initial thoughts so far:

Set up folders on Mac
    Import RAW images to folders using EOS utility
    Initial edit of images - DLO, NR, etc.
    Save images as 16 bit TIFFs

Open up Lightroom and complete the rest of the editing process there.

Anyone using a workflow like this or is it much easier to just do everything in Lightroom?
    Canon 5DMKII | Canon 550D | EF 50mm f/1.8 II | EF 35 f/2 IS USM | EF 85 f/1.8 USM | Speedlite 430EX II | 2x Yongnuo YN-622C | MacBook Pro 2.7GHz i7 | Lightroom 5 | Hama Traveller Mini Pro Tripod | Lowepro Stealth Reporter D400W | Flickr | 500px | Website

Re: DPP to Lightroom workflow

I don't use DPP at all, I simply put the card into the reader and let LR pull the images straight off and into the folder

I find LR offers everything I need so don't bother with DPP, in fact don't even have it installed as I don't see the point
    :- Ian

5D Mk III, 24-105 / 70-200 f2.8 L / 100-400 Mk II / 100 macro / 16-35 L / 11-24 L / 1.4 & 2x converters and a bad back carrying it all ;o)

:- https://www.flickr.com/photos/fotosespana/

Comment

Originally posted by Tigger View Post
      I don't use DPP at all, I simply put the card into the reader and let LR pull the images straight off and into the folder

I find LR offers everything I need so don't bother with DPP, in fact don't even have it installed as I don't see the point