Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Photography Qualification

Hello,

I'm looking to do a photography course to gain a formal qualification.

Anybody know of a course I can do part time as I work full time as an IT Systems Engineer. My job sometimes takes me away at random times so attending a formal place may be a problem, but home study wouldn't be an issue.

What kind of qualifications are there these days??!!

Thanks

Lee

Re: Photography Qualification

The answer to this might be hotly debated - but here goes !
    I don't think photographic qualifications will get you anywhere. Nobody takes any notice of them whatever. If there was something that might make people look more closely at you is if you gained photographic distinction of some sort. Have a look at the Royal Photographic Society web site for information on their 3 levels of distinctions which are over a very broad range of photographic categories. Writing Fred Bloggs FRPS is going to get people more interested than Fred Bloggs Btec, Hons Degree, Cert. Photo etc. just take a look at all the good successful photographers - what qualifications do they publicise - I would guess you would find it hard to find just one, but distinctions - now that's different.
    James
    James Boardman Woodend
    www.jameswoodend.com

Comment

I agree with James

Can I ask you why you want them?
      :- Ian

5D Mk III, 24-105 / 70-200 f2.8 L / 100-400 Mk II / 100 macro / 16-35 L / 11-24 L / 1.4 & 2x converters and a bad back carrying it all ;o)

:- https://www.flickr.com/photos/fotosespana/

Comment

My wife and I are both doing a BTEC Level I in Digital Photography - not so much for the qualification but for the content and the challenges. We're enjoying it!
        Canon EOS 6D Mk II, 700D, Canon 24-105mm L, 100-400mm, 100mm f2.8 L Macro.

Comment

Interesting take on the FRPS - I'll have a look into that.