Macro lens

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Macro lens

hello every body and good morning from a fresh but bright Cambridgeshire, any way I am new to the whole digital camera/photography scene.

I have a Canon 600D I now it's not an all singing all dancing digital Camera but you have to start some where and my reason for the purchase was that the screen is not fixed and when I go to speedway I can flip open the screen and get pictures.

Any way the reason I am asking this question, I love taking close up photos and have been using my normal lenses for the job, 18-55 stm 18-135 stm and my 75-300 now I am getting better at the close ups but I would like a macro lens that will be good with my camera, the bit that gets me is the fact that DSLRs are crop sensor cameras I don't understand the ratio yet 35mm to DSLR 1.6 crop.

I am told the L series lenses won't work with my camera because they are dedicated full frame, or so the guy in the shop tells me, he was trying to push a used sigma lens on to me but I like to research to see what is best and best for me.

So can any of you clever buggers enlighten me as to a proper macro lens that will be good for my camera, would prefer Canon, maybe Tamron maybe Sigma but would prefer Canon, what I like is flora and fauna and general stuff like getting in close to my Beagles nose you know stuff like that.

Regards Paul

Re: Macro lens

All EF lenses whether they are L or not will work with all full frame or cropped sensor cameras it is the ES-S lenses that will only fit cropped sensor cameras, like yours, but not full frame cameras

As to macro lenses, either a tamron 90 f2.8 or Canon EF-S 60 f2.8 are both reasonably priced or at the top of the range is the Canon 100 f2.8 L IS

I used to have the Tamron before I upgrader to the Canon L and my wife has the Canon ES-S 60 and all 3 produce excellent images

Stan
    Stan - LRPS, CPAGB, BPE2*

http://neptuno-photography.foliopic.com/
    flickr

Comment