Workflow Query

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Workflow Query

First of all, my apologies if this has already been covered. I have searched the forum and can't see an answer to this particular query.

I now use CS6 and am on a very steep learning curve! I was using Elements 13 for editing and still use it for the Organiser function I have about 11000+ images catalogued in Organiser.

My question is, would I be better spending out and getting Lightroom or would it be worth my while to stay with my present setup ?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Terry

Re: Workflow Query

Hi Terry I am no expert and sure someone will give a better answer than me, but I have all my photos in Lightroom.

Comment

My wife uses Elements and I use Lightroom. IMHO, Lightroom is way more capable when it comes to managing both large collections of images and dividing them into separate Catalogs so that, if you're like me, you like to have a set of current images and an archive.

Elements is not set up to easily do that separation - I nearly cacked myself when I tried to do that for the wife a while back and thought I'd lost loads if photos - and it doesn't have the key wording, attribute and metal data searching that Lightroom provides. On the other hand, Elements has some features that LR could really do with - the magic selection for me is one that it's crying out for but your forced into PS or Elements itself to get that.

TL:DR answer is for 11k+ photos, I'd go for LR unless there are some key capabilities it lacks in processing. But then you can open photos in PS or PSE and edit there so the two work together.
      EOS 7D mk II, Sigma 150-660C, Canon 17-85 EF-S, Tamron 10-24 and a wife who shares my obsession.

Comment

Your biggest difference is that Elements converts your image to 8 bits, while LR keeps it at 16 bits, which means that there is more colors available in LR than elements. Also LR was designed to manage your images.

Tom

Comment