backwards or forwards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

backwards or forwards

stuck in a little bit of a quandary at the moment ,as a lot of you know i'm mainly a wildlife photographer and due to funding limitations my main lens is the sigma 150-600mm sport . now up until april 2016 i used this in conjunction with a canon 1Dmk3 which while only a 10mp body gave some outstanding pictures .
    now that camera died on me in april and i have moved on to a 80D which although its a lovely camera and shoots at extremely high iso values i find the final pictures lack the bite of the files from the older 1D3 .
    the question now is do i try and source a used 1D3 in the new year and try again keeping the 80D for macro and general purpose work .
    i bring this up after going through some unpublished photos from dec last year with the old combo and then processing them with current methods and finding they jumped out of the screen at me .

no suggestions about other camera/lens choices needed as quiet simply pension funds will not allow it .it's either a used 1D3 or stay as i am .

one from the 80d combo
    what no snow ! by jeff and jan cohen, on Flickr

one from the 1D3 combo
    tester 1 by jeff and jan cohen, on Flickr

another 1D3 shot ,the one thing i always said about that camera was how smooth and easy the files were to work with ,not requiring a lot of p/p work at all
    tester 5 by jeff and jan cohen, on Flickr
    Last edited by the black fox; 24-12-2016, 10:49.

Re: backwards or forwards

Originally posted by the black fox View Post
    i find the final pictures lack the bite of the files from the older 1D3 ................I bring this up after going through some unpublished photos from dec last year with the old combo and then processing them with current methods and finding they jumped out of the screen at me .