Rant...beginner, advanced wannabe pro

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rant...beginner, advanced wannabe pro

It annoys me that so much of the industry categories customers as a device to make them want to buy something more by assuming that we all wannabe pros. I'm an amateur .....thats someone who does it for other reasons than earning a crust. If I wanted to be a full time pro I'd go for it. The industry can't seem to separate the level of someones ability as a photographer from their chosen profession. I've looked at going Pro and maybe I will sometime, but i'm happy doing what I do professionally and it earns at least as well as the average pro photographer.....so no I'm not a wannabe pro....my capabilities are adequate and probably equal to some professionals....I've done Weddings and commercial commissions.
    Examples of where I'm coming from are that Ive just bought a 'beginner' camera...because its small and its what I want, not because I need everything automated or that Im a beginner. Amateur photographer magazine once critiqued an image of a car in studio lighting where the tog had chosen to adjust the colour...AP though they should point out that Mr Alph Romeo would not be happy with that...well actually Mr A-R has no opinion...they didn't pay for the shoot it was an amateurs work, not bound by any client.....but it didn't stop AP assuming the goal was to do a pros job....where in fact it was an amateurs artistic effort to produce an attractive image.
    I just bought my Ticket for the show at the NEC...their questionnaire wanted to know if I was a beginner, advanced, turning pro or Pro....how dare they suggest that I'm on some sort of customer journey from beginner to full time pro! I don't want to be a b***** pro!
    Just my opinion but I think its disrespectful to customers to make such assumptions....what I buy does not define me!
    At least I am not Nikon!
    There said it.....
    Brian Vickers LRPS