Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from Berlin

Hello.

I come from Poland but since 2012 I live in Berlin, where I work as a programmer.

I made my first photos around 40 years ago with Zenit-E camera that was produced in former Soviet Union. It was very popular that time in Poland. Since the beginning I was interested in nature photography. Unfortunately I could not afford better equipment and for long time I used only point-and-shoot camera documenting some family events. Pictures of birds and butterflies had to wait for better time.

Digital era changed everything. In 2005 I purchased a compact camera Fujifilm FinePix S5500. I wanted to have something more featured and shortly after that I bought Minolta DiMAGE A1 and in 2008 Fujifulm FinePix S9600, which served me pretty well until 2015. Birds were still beyond reach but I didn't want to buy DSLR and carry with me all that heavy and expensive lenses. Astrophotography was my another dream and for that purpose I decided to give a try and buy a second hand, cheap DSLR. It was Canon EOS 1000D.

Astrophotography is still rather a dream, but with this low-end DSLR I could feel a difference. I was able to make, pretty good in my opinion, a picture of a stork in flight. Six month later I already had my current camera Canon EOS 70D. Now I'm thinking about better lenses. And by the way, I was right, they are heavy and very expensive :-)

I am a big fan of open source software and I use darktable for post-production. I find it as really powerful piece of software.

I haven't publish any of my pictures before but I'm going to change it. I created a profile on flickr.com last week to publish my recent photos and some other from the past too (including the image of flying stork I mentioned earlier). As I said I'm interested mostly in nature photography - flowers, insects, butterflies, and recently birds.