HEIC - image format

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HEIC - image format

How long before this format is integrated into digital cameras?

Apple has replaced the JPEG image format with the new HEIC alternative in iOS. So what is HEIC, what is HEIF, and how will they benefit iPhone users?

Emyr

Re: HEIC - image format

Interesting and thanks for the update.
    Colin

Comment

Looks like another attempt by Apple to dictate what everyone else should do...
      Nigel

You may know me from Another Place....

The new ElSid Photogallery...

Equipment: Far too much to list - including lots of Nikon...

Comment

I'm no technical expert but it seems to me that the problems they attribute to JPEG can be easily overcome by using a Camera

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camera
        Chris

My Website

Comment

It worries me when I hear about new formats....are we going to be able to open our old photos in the future.

Start printing before its too late!
          Brian Vickers LRPS

brianvickersphotography.com

Comment

although completely different but I've just bought the Samsung S8 and the camera is really quite stunning
            :- Ian

5D Mk III, 24-105 / 70-200 f2.8 L / 100-400 Mk II / 100 macro / 16-35 L / 11-24 L / 1.4 & 2x converters and a bad back carrying it all ;o)

:- https://www.flickr.com/photos/fotosespana/

Comment

The reason the JPEG survives so well is that it remains more than good enough for most purposes. Even though many modern cameras deliver massive file sizes storage systems are more than keeping pace - it's perhaps data transfer technology that is the current bottleneck...
              Nigel

You may know me from Another Place....

The new ElSid Photogallery...

Equipment: Far too much to list - including lots of Nikon...

Comment