Challenge 138 - "New beginnings"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Challenge 138 - "New beginnings"

Since we are only a day or two into the New Year of 2018, I thought it might be appropriate to reflect that in the challenge.

I am therefore looking for images which illustrate “New beginnings”, despite the fact that this subject was set exactly 4 years ago and attracted only 3 entries!

I am open to any and all interpretations of what that might mean, whether animal, vegetable, mineral or social and so I hope you will be able to better that number of entries (two challenges in one perhaps?).

Judging will be based on my assessment of how effective the image is in satisfying the brief, but please remember I am no expert and so it will be very much a personal thing.

Please read the general rules below:-

• The competition subject shall be selected by the winner of the preceding competition who will also judge the competition.
    • One picture per person; images should conform to general image posting rules.
    • Please use an EOS Canon camera - DSLR or M series
    • Posted images should be taken during the running period of the competition. Any images submitted that were taken before the competition started, or after the competition has ended, will be deemed invalid.
    • Images 800 pixels widest max (to help those with small monitors).
    • No Photoshop frames and borders.
    • Include a title; the image must convey the theme without title description.
    • Please, NO comments on images- on this or another thread- until the round is over.
    • No canvassing e.g. “I’m thinking of posting this image for the challenge, what do you think?”
    • I will pick 1st, 2nd and 3rd favourite images (please don’t PM me to discuss my choices).

Closing date for entries is midnight Sunday 21st January, giving you 3 weekends to produce your masterpiece.
    John Liddle

Backwell, North Somerset - "Where the cider apples grow"