Advice needed please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice needed please

Hi there to everybody. I am wondering if anyone can give me a word of advice on getting the best from my 1DX and 7D2. I am an experienced photographer of wildlife in particular. I have a 1DX which is around 5 years old with 65,000 or so actuations. I am very happy with the camera and the 300mm lens usually on it but sometimes I feel I could have done better.
    I am wondering if anyone has tried slowing the operation down a little and reducing the number of FPS ? I do tend to fire away sometimes so I am thinking of reducing the FPS to see if that helps.
    Any advice is welcome - thanks in advance
    John Boyd - Leeds

Re: Advice needed please

Hi John , I have the same two cameras as you with the 1DX being my prime body with the 7D2 as back up when needed. 90% of my photography is wildlife and find the 1DX and 500mm lens a great combination . I have never felt it necessary to reduce the FPS and providing the focus is locked onto the subject and not lost during tracking I dont know why I would want to reduce it. I guess it depends on what you mean by " could have done better " as I think we are all in that boat .
    Steve ( LSINWP )
    1DX, and 7D2 ,500mmf4mkii, 300mmf2.8, 400mm f5.6 , 100mm - 400mmmk2 ,70-200mm f2.8 ,24-105mm f4, 100mm f2.8 macro , 1.4x converter, 2x converter and a big dose of luck !!

Comment

Hello John

I have slowed mine down to 12 shots per second and for birds in flight, use Case 2 focus and tracking.

More importantly, anticipating the shot is far more important than gunning the motor drive. I press the button for around three shots and this puts the wings of the target bird in three different positions. Some birds look a bit stupid with their wings in certain positions, so cranking off three shots gives me a choice of three options.