Just like busses.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just like busses.

Having lunch & there was a Hare in the garden. finished lunch went out in the field & there was 3 together. Got within 50 yds at one point, standing up with a tripod & they just were not bothered.

4S7A0956 (2) by David Miller, on Flickr

These two paired off & left the third alone.
    4S7A0963 (2) by David Miller, on Flickr

Re: Just like busses.

What am I doing wrong? Hares get loads of comments on here, yet nothing on mine. Is it soft, ,wrong colours, what? Some answers would help me improve.

Comment

I'm not sure why this hasn't received any comments. From my point of view, I'd not seen this post first time round and I don't have time to view, let alone comment on, every one anyway! I'm no expert on shooting hares but hopefully here are some constructive comments.

They both look a little soft on here but are better when viewed on Flickr. The second one is by far the better shot for me as it is less messy than the first and has a better composition. Even so, it does look a little soft when viewed up close on Flickr but there's no EXIF data so I can't try to work out why. It could be one or more of: too slow a shutter speed for the reach, too narrow a DOF or just camera shake. I don't think the flat light has helped but there's not much you can do about that.

I hope that helps a bit!
      Chris
      80D - 10-18 IS STM - 15-85 IS USM - 55-250 IS STM - 50 f/1.8 STM - 100-400L IS II USM - 100 f/2.8L Macro - 1.4x III

Comment

Thanks Chris.

Comment

First I've seen of this thread Dave.

I agree with Chris though - they do look better on Flickr and I prefer the second one too.

I love hares and I would really like to get a "head on" shot of a hare, but sadly we seldom see hares on my daily stamping grounds - plenty of deer, loads of owls, but I have yet to see a hare!
          Canon EOS 6D Mk II, 700D, Canon 24-105mm L, 100-400mm, 100mm f2.8 L Macro.

Comment