Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

100mm 2.8 L Lens

Hi,

Forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place but this is my first attempt.

I should like to know if anyone has experience of using the 100mm Macro 2.8 IS L lens for anything other than macro. I've read it is good for portraiture but how about landscape or maybe street photography.

Also can the lens be used with an extender.

Many thanks
    Colin

Re: 100mm 2.8 L Lens

I have this lens....it is excellent.
    It is sold as a macro but works equally well for portraiture or any application.
    I think the 85mm L is preferred as a portraiture lens but the focal length is really not that different though it is significantly faster and achieves shallower depth of field.
    I can't see any reason why you wouldn't use it to shoot landscape if 100mm gives you the field of view you need.
    Brian Vickers LRPS

brianvickersphotography.com

Comment

I also use a 100mm macro lens for portraits. I think the 100mm is more flattering than the traditional 50mm and 80mm lenses on a full frame sensor body.
      Colin

Comment

....and to answer the question of using a 1.4x, not compatible I'm afraid.
        Regards
        Lez

5Ds // 5D Mark III //
        7D Mark II // 16-35 f4L // 24-70 f2.8L II //
        24-105 f4L II // 70-200 f4 L // 70-200 f2.8 Lis II // 50 f1.2L // 85 f1.8 //100 f2.8Lis // 200 f2.8L // 300 f4Lis // 1.4ex // .......... and a longer wish list

Comment

Use it for whatever you like, so long as you want sharp results. It performs well at distance as well as close up.
          Please don't ask about my kit, it's embarrassing!

Comment

Thanks to you all for quick replies.
            Take care.
            Colin

Comment