A Really Good Commission - At Long Last

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Really Good Commission - At Long Last

I hope this won't sound like boasting, and I am trying to keep within the parameters of the thread by being informative as to how it might be possible to make some money with your camera.

I've been a published photographer for a very long time; in that I sold my first photo to a magazine in 1979 - and I've done a huge amount of work since then. But, I've hankered after being a regular (and regularly paid) travel photographer for as long as I can remember.

I've done a lot of work in this line; including 2 trips to the USA that resulted in 3, two page spreads for The Irish Times newspaper, a week photographing pubs and restaurants in Ireland for the Sunday Times travel magazine and 5 months in 2009 and 2010 travelling up one side of Ireland and down the other taking a total of 4600 images for a Dorling Kindersley guide book (Back Roads Ireland), which resulted in 300 of my photos in the book (about half the total published).

But, today, I had a phone call that could have seriously changed things for me on a regular basis. The marketing body that is responsible for marketing the island of Ireland overseas - a very large international corporate body - gave me a call. Actually it was a conference call, with me at one end of the line and 4 of their team at the other. At the end of the 40 minute call, I had secured 2 commissions worth over €995 a day (that will take more than a week to complete) plus "post production" (at €500 a day) plus expenses and plus licensing fees for any image use (and a buyout of my copyright could send the total bill into orbit).