Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help..which to choose...close up diopters or extension tubes or Raynox or others

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help..which to choose...close up diopters or extension tubes or Raynox or others

Hi.

I am new to macro photography and I have a read dozens of threads and articles about it.

I came upon this:

I have a 550D body and an 18-135 IS kit lens. I can not buy a dedicated macro lens right now so I want to maximize the use of my 18-135 IS kit lens.

Which is the best option:
    1--use macro close up lenses/diopters?
    which ones? what brand? what "+"?

2--use extension tubes? like this: http://cgi.ebay.com/...acro-Canon-ex...-/170476832818

3--use reversing ring?

4--use Raynox?

I would first start doing inanimate objects e.g. coins, jewels, bolts etc. then flowers, then eventually move on to caterpillars, spiders maybe and of course those flying insects e.g. flies, dragonflies, bugs, bees.

Again I would like to maximize the use of my 18-135 kit lens.

Should I also use a ring flash?
    or just an ordinary hot shoe flash?

Any advise?

-AFL

Re: Help..which to choose...close up diopters or extension tubes or Raynox or others

Hello AFL90 and welcome to the Forum.

They will all give you macro to a greater or lesser extent, but I would go for the extension tubes. Make sure that they are automatic and that means they have the contacts to carry information between the body and the lens. If you buy the normal set of three, you can use them individually, or double, or treble them up.

A ringflash is nice to have, but not necessary. Natural light, or halogen desk lamps are pretty good. Ordinary flash is fine, but you are often too close to be able to use it.

Hope that helps.

Colin
    Colin

Comment

Re: Help..which to choose...close up diopters or extension tubes or Raynox or others

Hi Colin,

Noted that if it were you, you'd go for the extension tubes with autofocus.