Been doing some street B&W stuff

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Been doing some street B&W stuff

It's been pretty grey in Glasgow lately with the leaves starting to fall off the trees, so it looks like Autumn is on the way. As you know Glasgow is a pretty dirty, smelly and overall dull and moody town. So sometimes going out and snapping folk can have you in hot water with the locals. They really don't like being photographed, so you need to be careful.

However, with that said I don't try to annoy many folk, so here is what I've managed with the new 70-200 2.8L IS II USM on the 7D so far this week. I'll order it from the ones I like first.

Female Cyclist
    Her eyes just connected with the camera as she past and just made the pic for me.

The Connection by Campsie Photography, on Flickr

My first Pan attempt
    Hard thing to get right and I'm no expert, but I liked the fast you can see the passenger looking.

My first go at Panning by Campsie Photography, on Flickr

Hard man resting
    This guy was sleeping when I passed him at first then woke up and gave me a really weird look

Time for a think by Campsie Photography, on Flickr

Big Issue Ma'am?
    This wee woman sits there everyday in rain or snow, and always smiles at everyone.

No one cares by Campsie Photography, on Flickr

Not sure how technical these pics are but I really don't understand composition beyond the rule of thirds. It's lost on me and I prefer to shoot when my mind says 'OK'.

As far as processing goes, it's really just all done in Photoshop CS6 using the Levels for global adjustment, curves and the Red and Yellow sliders (in B&W adjustment layer) for minor changes. Unsharp Mask was used in all of them I'm sure.

So far so good with the lens, but it's making me dangerously eager to get out more.

Paul
    Fuji X-T1 | 1D IV
    www.campsie.photography

Re: Been doing some street B&W stuff

I like all of those the cyclist being my favorite as you say the eyes make it.