My other half and her Horse jumping.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My other half and her Horse jumping.

During the local show season last year i took my camera along to watch my other half compete

Im still learning how to track him properly.

I tend to use the camera in shutter priority, the highest frame rate the 400D will give me (3.5FPS), AL Servo focus and centre focus point. I set the IS mode on the lens to mode 1 so it doesn't try to correct me panning the lens left to right but helps stop any upward or downward movement.

I also take practice shots on the other people competing and use the histogram to judge the light etc.

Here is what i got:

And a pose shot

Re: My other half and her Horse jumping.

Nice set of shots of a good looking horse.
    Your other half looks good as well but I will keep the comments to the subject of your shots and will not say things like "she has a nice seat" as non show jumping people will take my comment the wrong way....

These are my thoughts on your shots.
    Looking at the exif info I see that you have used a fairly high ISO and a small aperture which has made the backgrounds equal to the subject...your other half and her horse.
    When I am shooting polo, jumping or menage work I tend to have a fairly large aperture to keep the background soft or blurred so that the subject is nice and sharp. A large aperture will enable you to decrease the ISO and help reduce any noise.

The other thing to keep in mind is the "style" of the jump and where you have positioned yourself in relation to the jump. A jump, say a spread jump will have "wings" which if you are in the wrong spot will stop you getting a clean shot of the horse jumping.