Solid State Storage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Solid State Storage

Back end of last year I bought my wife a new laptop - a 2012 model !3" MacBook pro - with DVD and a 512GB disk. I expected disk performance to be slow but when I helped her with something last weekend I was horrified at how slow it was. For those that use Macs, spinning beachballs of doom were the norm when she loaded apps for example.

So this Saturday it went into a local computer shop and I had the HDD replaced with a solid state drive (SSD) and the difference is like night and day. As an SSD user - I have an MBA - it's the norm to see apps load like this, so much so that I'd forgotten how slow are hard disk based machines. It was that much better that her first comment was "Wow" when she started PSE.

So if you can spare the cash and have a computer based on a spinning disk, an upgrade to an SSD is really a new lease of life.
    EOS 7D mk II, Sigma 150-660C, Canon 17-85 EF-S, Tamron 10-24 and a wife who shares my obsession.

Re: Solid State Storage

My main PC, an i7 based machine with 12Gb of DDR3 RAM, began to slow down, especially the 'boot up', as more and more data was stored on the HDD.

Frustrated by this, I moved the large (2Tb) 'C' drive into the second 'bay', and installed a 500Gb SSD to become the new 'C' drive.

As you say Andy, the difference in the speed of accessing data, and 'boot up', is like 'night and day'.

The OS, programs, and current data are stored on the SSD, and all else on the HDD.

I still back up to external HDDs, but using the PC is no longer frustrating.

Dave
    Last edited by Dave_S; 13-07-2015, 14:47.
    Dave

Comment

My son just bought himself a gaming rig and did the same - data on a pair of mirrored 1TB disks, OS and programs on am SSD. It seems SSD is becoming the way to go...
      EOS 7D mk II, Sigma 150-660C, Canon 17-85 EF-S, Tamron 10-24 and a wife who shares my obsession.

Comment