Auto ISO

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Auto ISO

During a recent foray to photograph a horse event, cross country, I ended up with some disappointing images, mostly blurred.

I'm still learning so I studied the manual for my camera EOS 5d Mk11 and 24-105mm, and I think I've worked out what I was doing wrong!

I failed to increase the ISO above 400 in the dull overcast conditions, so the F4.0 lens struggled to cope with 125 or 250 shutter speed. It wanted to shoot at 60 or 30!

If I set the ISO to 'auto' and the Tv (shutter speed) to 250 to counter camera shake, the camera will keep the F4.0 aperture I presume?

Can I adjust the aperture to increase my depth of field? Should I switch to Ev (exposure priority) and auto ISO?

As you can see, I'm a little confused. Perhaps I'm asking the impossible, dull, overcast shy and sharp images with an F4.0 lens at reasonable quick shutter speed?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
    The camera works just fine, it's the idiot staring through the viewfinder that need's help!

Re: Auto ISO

I use Auto Iso quite a lot on my 5D2 especially when using my 100-400L
    I always have my camera set to Av and Auto ISO will select an ISO that will in turn select a shutter speed fast enough for me to hand hold.
    TBH, I've never tried it in Tv.

Many a time I have forgotten to cancel the Auto ISO when shooting landscapes with the camera tripod mounted resulting in a landscape shot at ISO 3200.
    With the 5D2 its still possible to get clean shots at that high ISO setting.

Mike
    www.mstphoto.zenfolio.com

http://www.flickr.com/photos/27554645@N05/

Comment

AV and Auto ISO is the way to go if you are in any doubt about enough light to keep the shutter speed high enough

I would like to see a mode (perhaps semi Manual) where you set the shutter speed and exposure and the camera sets the iso for you.

Brian
      ef-r

Comment

Originally posted by briansquibb View Post