The "L" has landed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The "L" has landed!

So after a LOT of deliberation and research, I decided to take the plunge, and bought a 70-200 f4L. Already I am sooo impressed by the quality, sharpness, and ability of this lens to shoot in low light. Today was the first time I was able to take some proper shots with my white wonder, and I wasn't dissapointed. Even though it was getting on for 4:30pm on a dull, rainy Western Central Scotland day, the results were more than impressive. I am no professional, just a keen ametuer with a vision to take great pictures, which I am still trying to achieve! But, I am certain this lens will help in my pursuit. Don't worry, I am under no illusion that it is the equipment that makes the picture. I know it is down to the fingure on the shutter release etc, but, it helps to have good equipment.

However, I have learnt a very hard and valuable lesson. I researched the chosen focal length endlessly, and decided to plump for this lens. The thing is, I didn't study and evaluate the type of photography that I actually do and enjoy. Most of my photos are landscapes, candid kid shots, and that kind of thing. Somehow I got caught up in the whole new equipment fever. I think maybe I should have gone for a focal range closer to the 24-105 f4. As much as I love my new lens, and I'm sure that I will use it a lot, I can't help but think I may have made an expensive error.

Thanks for reading,

Garry
    Garry Macdonald on Flickr
    Garry Macdonald on Facebook

Re: The "L" has landed!

Originally posted by digiman View Post
    I can't help but think I may have made an expensive error.
    No error on your part Garry as you will find that you will use this lens more & more.
    At 70mm that is quite good for portraits, especially outdoors.

For landscape save up for an ultra-wide angle lens (UWA) such as a 10-20mm or a wide angle lens such as the 17-40mm f/4L.