EF 100mm f2.8L Macro IS USM

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EF 100mm f2.8L Macro IS USM

I'm very new to photogrpahy (3 weeks ago I didn't know the difference between an apeture and a lens cap lol) but it's been something I've wanted to get into for a long time, just never had the time.

After asking a mate what would be a good starter option for around £1k he recommended the Canon EOS 60D with the (seemingly highly regarded) EF-S 17-55mm F2.8 IS USM. (Came in at £1177 less cash back so went over budget!).

I was instantly hooked so no sooner had I started snapping and I was looking for my next lens and accessories. Low light capbility and a decent zoom would be important to me as I would take close up shots of sports action indoors without flash (American pool and snooker). Having done my research I realised the Canon EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS USM mark 2 was the way to go.... ouch said my wallet and wow said my friends when they saw the pictures!

Family portraits and general fun stuff at parties etc. (also potentially in low light) was another candidate so, given all the hype I got from my pal about the quality and value for money of primes I settled for the Canon EF 50mm F.14 USM.

So now I'm starting to think maybe I should just have blown the bank and gone straight for a FF, but hindsight is a wonderful thing. I'll almost certainly do that at some point but I already blew nearly all my budget. So I'll now stick to EF and preferable L lenses in future.

Now to my question... It seems that despite owning 3 excellant and versatile lenses the reviews seem to suggest none of the above seem capable of decent macro shots. Is this really true?