Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which multi-purpose lens for the T1i?

Hi All-
    I recently upgraded to the T1i, and I am a beginner when it comes to DSLR cameras. Even though the lens kit that came with the camera (18-55mm) is ok to get started, I have noticed that it does not give me the zoom capabilities that I would prefer in a lens which I will use most of the time on the camera. Therefore, I would like to get another Canon lens that has better zoom capabilities and that I can use for day-to-day photography. And, I am planning on spending anywhere from $300-$600 on a good standard lens, so-to-speak.

At the moment, I do not have any 'specific' type of photography in mind; however, I use the camera for outdoor photography most of the time, and once in a while, indoors. I have also taken a workshop on digital photography to better understand all the different shooting modes the Canon offers; as well as have a few book on digital photography.

I have read quite a few reviews on many standard zoom or prime lenses; but as a beginner, this has become a bit confusing, and at times overwhelming, as there is alot of information to learn about lenses. I do know that eventually (not any time soon), I would like to get a telephoto zoom 70-200 f/4L USM lens.

Thanks much for your suggestions....

Re: Which multi-purpose lens for the T1i?

I would suggest the 55-200mm to compliment your 18-55.

Cheap price - excellent results (for its price)

55 - 200

I have one and get excellent results with it
    Last edited by briansquibb; 09-02-2010, 23:07.
    ef-r

Comment

I would recommend the EF-S 55mm-250mm IS lens if your camera will take it.

The attached review of the 55mm-200mm lens is not very good and ends saying it is not recommended!!!!!!!!!!!