• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help Please :-)

Hi All

I recently upgraded from a 500D to a 7D. My current lenses are:

Sigma 18-250 f3.5 MACRO
    Canon 50mm f1.8

What next? Would you be happy with these or should I look for another for my bag? Perhaps a wide angle?

I am new to this really so not sure what to look for in a lens? is it the F stop? the range?, I still cant quite work out why a lens is expensive?

Any advise would be gratefully recieved?

Many thanks
    Richard
    Canon EOS 7D

https://www.flickr.com/photos/richard-davidson/

Re: Help Please :-)

Ultimately image quality, the camera is only as good as the lens. What lenses you need depends on what you want to do with them.
    Paul

Comment

With a crop camera, I would go for a wide angle- either the Sigma 10-20 or the Canon 10-22 or the Canon 10-18mm- the last mentioned is the cheapest but excellent IQ. I have got it as well.
      Canon 6D; Canon 760D;Canon G15;Canon 40mm f2.8(Pancake);Canon 50mm f1.8(ii); Canon 17mm-40mm f4L;Canon EF-S 10-18mm f4.5-5.6 IS STM;Canon EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 STM lens;Canon 24mm-105mmf4L IS;Canon 70-300mm f4-f5.6 L IS USM;Kenko 1.4x HD TC;Canon 430EX ii flash;Giottos tripod;Manfretto monopod;Cokin P filters + bits and pieces!

www.flickr.com/photos/nathaniel3390

North Wales where music and the sea give a great concert!

Comment

Originally posted by planetc View Post
        Ultimately image quality, the camera is only as good as the lens. What lenses you need depends on what you want to do with them.
        exactly ...we can't tell you as we don't know what you shoot, or indeed the budget
        :- Ian

5D Mk III, 24-105 / 70-200 f2.8 L / 100-400 Mk II / 100 macro / 16-35 L / 11-24 L / 1.4 & 2x converters and a bad back carrying it all ;o)

:- https://www.flickr.com/photos/fotosespana/

Comment