Lense advice please. For 70D

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lense advice please. For 70D

I currently have the below: and not getting what I want from the 18-55 with the 50mm outperforming it in low light and sharpness.

70D 18-55mm IS, EF 75-300mm & 50mm STM

Ive been looking at reviews of the EF-S 17-55mm F/2.8 IS USM and considering it for my next lense. It’s the low light ability I’m interested in and would replace my 18-55. Is this a good idea or is there something else I should consider.

The 50 does me for most situations just now and I love using it, but I miss the zoom for landscapes and the 18-55 is tricky in low light with a lot of noise.

Im still pretty new to all this – so could be my settings aren’t great.

Is there an allrounder you can suggest, not too expensive one please. The EF-S 17-55mm F/2.8 IS USM is going for around £200ish used. I think I could convince myself I need it!

Thanks

Steve

Steve

We're a' Jock Tamson's bairns ;)

Flickr

EOS R, RF 24-105 L, 70D EF 18-55mm IS, EF 75-300mm, EF10-18mm IS STM & Nifty 50 STM.

In my opinion you have a good set of lens with what you have got, the 75-300 is very versatile and the fifty is a good all rounder. To me as you state you are pretty new to all this and should get to know these group of lens before you move on. Give yourself a year to see where the gaps are in your lens, this will allow you to save for a better lens and become more efficient in what you have got.
    Dave

Comment

I hear you loud and clear, I also know your talking complete sense and I know im being impatient and have more to learn than I probably realise. Here comes the but…

Ive taken some nice images with the 18-55 and I just can’t seem to replicate them often enough or at all and that’s the Lense that would mostly suit my purposes. Changing one setting/lense loses somewhere else etc.