Clear All

do you have to buy canon lenses?

I am new to dslr photography do you have to buy canon lenses
    or can you use other makes of lenses
    Canon EOS 550D
    EF-S 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS II Lens
    EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM

Re: do you have to buy canon lenses?

There are a number of 3rd party lens manufacturers that make lenses to fit Canon bodies. Just do a search on e-bay for Canon fit lenses.
    Malcolm.
    760D
    EF 50mm f1.8,EF 28-135 IS USM,
    Sigma 10-20 DC HSM,EFS 18-55 IS STM
    EF 70-300 IS USM
    Kenko Teleplus HD 1.4 DGX
    YN685ll,YN568EXll,YN468,YN622TX and YN622TRX's.

Comment

Just done a quick search on e-bay for EF and EF-S fit lenses.

Various non canon lenses.
      Malcolm.
      760D
      EF 70-300 IS USM

Comment

Do however be careful that if you have a full frame camera then the EF-S lenses will not fit they are designed for what is known as the crop frame cameras. The EF lenses will fit all canon EOS bodies. If you want to buy new kit other than what is offered on e-bay have a look at this site as it will give you price comparisons and a review for each of the companies that they reference http://www.camerapricebuster.co.uk/prod1603.html

Comment

Originally posted by Muscat View Post
          Do however be careful that if you have a full frame camera then the EF-S lenses will not fit they are designed for what is known as the crop frame cameras. The EF lenses will fit all canon EOS bodies. If you want to buy new kit other than what is offered on e-bay have a look at this site as it will give you price comparisons and a review for each of the companies that they reference http://www.camerapricebuster.co.uk/prod1603.html
          In his first post he said he had just bought a 550D.
          Malcolm.
          760D
          EF 70-300 IS USM

Comment