Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Canon EFS 55-250mm - Which one, new or old??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Canon EFS 55-250mm - Which one, new or old??

Hi

This is my first post (Hi All) and I am very new to DSLR photography having only owned my EOS 550d for around 6 months and I only have the 18-55mm lense out of the box.

I recently attended an experience seminars workshop to gain some basic knowledge and following this I am looking to purchase a 55-250mm lense. I have been doing my research and seen that Canon have recently relaunched the 55-250mm lense in July. I have also seen that the previous version is being sold with a considerable discounts.

My question is, should I buy the new version or should I save a few pennies and buy the previous version? Will I notice any difference at the level of photography I am at?

Any advice will be appreciated?

Thanks

Re: Canon EFS 55-250mm - Which one, new or old??

Hello Jonny and welcome to the Forum.

You are certainly exercising sound judgement to go for the 55 - 250mm. It is very well respected and performs very well, especially considering its price point. Either version will give you good results, but the MKII version did add some minor improvements.

I am always happy to save money, but I also later regret not buying the better version when I had the opportunity, so I would save some extra pennies and have the MKII version. It is a good idea to buy the lenshood at the same time. It can reduce lensflare, protect the front of the lens ........................ and it looks good!

Colin
    Colin

Comment