Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with ISO for nite pics!

Hi again!

Can someone help me with a ISO question!

The other nite i was on Penzance railway station with my EOS 1000d!
    It was after sunset up till 10pm, I had no tripod but found using 1600 ISO i could still take a fair photo on 1/20th and no shake!
    I take my 1000d with me to work as i am a truck driver and try to park up over nite with train in mind as i did Wednesday with no tripod! Using a tripod is no issue as i do most on 200 ISO!

My question is i am thinking of up grading but what will give me a better photo with less grain!
    I was thinking of a 60d

Thanks in advance

Christopher
    Attached Files
    see ya later!

please look at my photos if your passing!

www.webshots.com/user/kachris66

Re: Help with ISO for nite pics!

If these were taken at 1600 ISO you have done very well as they look pretty good to me, I don't have a 60D but believe that it would handle ISO better than your current model I am sure someone else who has the 60D will help it certainly has a good reputation

Comment

There's not a lot wrong with those in terms of noise, to be honest. A 60D will improve matters being newer and higher spec, but it doesn't look as if they need much help.
      Canon EOS7D mkII+BG-E16, Canon EOS 7D+BG-E7, Canon EF-S 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Tamron Di-II 17-50 f2.8, Canon EF 24-105 f/4L IS, Canon EF 70-200 f/4L, Sigma 30mm f1.4 DC HSM 'Art', Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, Sigma 1.4x DG, Canon Speedlight 430EX II (x2)

Comment

Bigger sensor will give you better noise control (less noise at higher ISO) eg EOS 5DMKI / MK II.

Paul
        EOS 1Dx, - EF 24-105L f4,- Sigma 135 f1.8 Art - EF 400L IS f2.8, - Speedlite 430EXII.
        Freelance Sports Photographer for local Press - https://twitter.com/P_linton99

Comment

Thanks guys!

When i put then through DPP i did you the Noise Reduction on the tool palette. I guess if i had a tripod with me i would have made the photo better!