The million dollar question - 600D usage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The million dollar question - 600D usage

I feel this question or query could be asked here as you all seem a really decent bunch of people who are there to help, no matter your experience level, so here goes.

I've had my 600D about 2 months. Before that I used a Fuji S4500 bridge. Manual mode suddenly hit me one day, No idea how or why, but I've been using manual mode on my 600D ever since.

Since I'm self taught, I wonder -- Am I doing it right?

Set the scene....

Daylight, bright sunshine, so I set ISO 100 or 200. I'll be using my 75-300mm F4-f5.6 USM III for capturing birds or any wildlife. I set f4 to get maximum light in, however I know that at 300mm it's going to change to f5.6.

Naturally, If I see the exposure meter wandering off to the right in the viewfinder, I'll rapidly move the scroll wheel to speed up the shutter, and to the left, I'll slow the shutter. I tend to float between partial and spot metering, because I don't want the overall sunlight to mess with the subject.

I find the rapid scrolling action of the scroll wheel distracting to the animal and noisy too. However, using Av is not an option to me, because I try not to go below 1/80th of a second due to my ability to steady the camera handheld, and Av mode will probably go there at a moments notice.

Is this what mostly everyone does in manual mode? or is there some mythical way of doing it better? I tend to us AWB too, as I feel it's not really that bad at getting it right. I've never used custom WB using an 18% grey card either.

Sorry for the long post, however, I just want to know if i'm headed in the right direction.

Thanks for listening folks

Paul
    glasgow
    Fuji X-T1 | 1D IV
    www.campsie.photography

Re: The million dollar question - 600D usage

Great question Paul,

Is this what mostly everyone does in manual mode? or is there some mythical way of doing it better?