Downloading pictures.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Downloading pictures.

Advice given to me by computer engineers, never use a card reader just download from the camera, the more you move the card the more risk of damage.
    By default I download to Digital Photo Pro'/ZoomBrowser EX. Email, the files are often to big, so my son-Canada based-said use Picasa 3.
    A simply program for file reduction and editing, I tried it and it works. Opinions ?
    Graham
    Canon 100D, 18-135 IS STM, 50 1.8 STM, 220EX Flash.

Re: Downloading pictures.

It's pretty difficult to damage a card unless you're fairly careless. I've been using a reader for 9 years and never had a problem. It's also much faster and saves your camera batteries (and you really don't want the power to run out while you're downloading). On that point I'd disagree.

Picasa's OK, and does allow you to upload easily (their standard allowance is generous and it's inexpensive to add quite a lot of storage). I use ACDSee which also has sufficient RAW processing for my needs. v4 has just been released and I've tested the BETA version which has a lot more features than 2.5 that I'm currently on. I'll wait for the price to drop a little, but I think this upgrade is worthwhile.
    Canon EOS7D mkII+BG-E16, Canon EOS 7D+BG-E7, Canon EF-S 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Tamron Di-II 17-50 f2.8, Canon EF 24-105 f/4L IS, Canon EF 70-200 f/4L, Sigma 30mm f1.4 DC HSM 'Art', Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, Sigma 1.4x DG, Canon Speedlight 430EX II (x2)

Comment

Originally posted by Longshot View Post
      ... the files are often to big ...
      Too 'big' for what?

And speaking as someone who writ his first assembler program in the 60's ... and have been in IT for a long long time. Card readers are okay and faster than camera to PC.

DPP (free with your kit) can reduce size. So can Adobe's stuff.