New, Willing & Eager!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New, Willing & Eager!

Hi all, new to photography. I had a DSLR years ago but just pointed and clicked.

Bought myself a used Canon 70D with 8-55mm IS & EF 75-300mm – I know the EF 75-300 isn’t a very good lens (after I bought it) and currently looking for an EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM or like - to start my beginner’s experience.

I’m Scottish but live in Derry Ireland, so I’m pig headed enough to learn and live in an interesting part of the world for photography. My job takes me all over the countryside and coast, so ill have plenty of opportunities – my phone is full of snaps and decided to upgrade to a decent beginner’s camera.

I’m brand new to all the jargon. I’m willing, eager but will need some help – looking forward to learning here.

My 1st quest is a better zoom lens.

Thanks

Glezga
    Steve

We're a' Jock Tamson's bairns ;)

Flickr

EOS R, RF 24-105 L, 70D EF 18-55mm IS, EF 75-300mm, EF10-18mm IS STM & Nifty 50 STM.

Welcome aboard. There's plenty of helpful advice available from the other members.

The 55-250 IS STM is a pretty decent lens. I have the earlier version without the STM motor which is optically very good and the STM version is basically the same lens with a different motor. Alternatively there is a much better 75-300mm available: the 75-300mm IS USM mark II or Mark III both of which have a good reputation optically and on focusing speed.
    Nigel

You may know me from Another Place....

The new ElSid Photogallery...

Equipment: Far too much to list - including lots of Nikon...

Comment

Welcome to the forum Glezga, I’m sure you’ll find it helpful

Ian
      Ian

Flickr page https://www.flickr.com/photos/154026104@N07

Comment

Welcome from me too Glezga.
        Peter

Feel free to browse my
        Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/the_original_st/

Comment

Welcome Glezga - you will find this is a friendly and helpful place
          John Liddle